A Photo Contest Winner!

Posted on April 1, 2011

0


Over a year ago, I began TheExpeditioner.com Flickr group. This mission of the group is to share the love of traveling and travel inspiration through the medium of photography. It’s a beautiful world, right? Since then, every month I send off an email of the contest thread submissions. It is typically a broad travel-related theme that members of the group can offer suggestions. As a staff, we choose our favorites, I tally the comments and ‘votes’ and to determine the winner. It’s been a fairly successful campaign now with over 150 group members and some seriously incredible shots. Travel inspiration has been attained, for sure.

When I open a new monthly thread, along with a short description I post one of my own applicable photos to break-the-ice. This month, the ice-breaker photo I submitted received some of the most chatter in our email correspondence and actually turned up the winner:

Funny thing is, I’m not sure how I feel about winning a contest that I’m technically running–just seems a little fishy, you know. I shot an email off to Matt about that which came back with “it’s fine to give yourself a pat on the back once in a while.”

Without telling you much about the shot–taken on a side street in Helena, Montana after a day of skiing at Great Divide–I will direct you to the feature post on The Expeditioner. There you will find some background, reactions, and the coming month’s contest.

Cheers, all… I’m patting as we speak!

