Mom’s World-Famous Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe

Posted on November 25, 2011

2


I’m convinced that (1) slipper’s are an appropriate footwear for any occasion, (2) a banjo and/or mandolin’s make life better, and (3) Thanksgiving is the best holiday in the universe. Think about it–you’re always happier in slippers; dancing a two-step is undeniable when a banjo is a-pluckin’; and making a feast with loved ones to appreciate all you have in the world is a damn good thing.

Me? I’m pretty thankful for the opportunity to be back in school getting my master’s degree. My beautiful wife supports me in ways I probably won’t ever know, my mind is stimulated, and my creativity is running. To my family in WI, MT, IA, CAN and everywhere else… namaste. I’m thankful to have been all the amazing places I’ve been, seen, and learned all that I have through my travels. I’m thankful for all my friends, in every corner of the world, that have shaped me and encouraged me to be who, what, and where I am today. This journey has been pretty awesome, thank you for joining me.

I’m also thankful, specifically, for the greatest sweet potato recipe on the face of the planet. I’d like to share this with you because before I can ever remember, the dish of beautifully orange slop has dominated my fond memories of this wonderful day. This sweet potato dish was mom’s contribution to the tidal wave of glutton seen at our family’s Thanksgiving Day table. I would eagerly anticipate its unveiling year after year. More recently, the memories of this dish turn to the ritual pre-Thanksgiving call home for the recipe because I lost it sometime over the last year. Mom would always dig it out of where ever it was, as if she was waiting by the phone for my call. Now I’m the one whipping up this Wick family delicacy and sharing it with whoever wants a spoonful.

It would never fail, moments into the Thanksgiving meal, Grams would always say, “boy, it sure got quiet in here.”  Here’s to starting my own family tradition!

Thanksgiving, after all, is a word of action.  ~W.J. Cameron

Mom’s World-Famous Sweet Potato Souffle

Prep time: 2 hr (1.5 bake time) – serves 4-5 – can easily be prepared the night before

Ingredients

4-5 medium-large sweet potatoes (yams)
1/2 – 3/4 stick of butter
1/2 c. brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. nutmeg

Directions

1) Wash sweet potatoes, poke with a fork several times, & wrap in foil

2) Bake 1.5 hours at 350 degrees or until soft (may want to bake on foil sheet  since the potatoes sometimes spew a little goodness sometimes)

3) Let the sweet potatoes cool down enough to handle them; cut in half and gut the sweet potatoes (I basically just rake the skin off with a fork), put into a large mixing bowl

4) Add all ingredients to the sweet potatoey goodness

5) Whip it… whip it real good! Until smooth.

6) Cover and refrigerate overnight

 

7) Put sweet potatoes in a 9×11 casserole dish

8 Bake about 30-45 minutes until heated through
optional: last 5 minutes spread mini marshmallows over the top

9) Serve… and be sure you get some!

Posted in: Uncategorized